Vegan Red Beans and Brown Rice

by

Vegan Red Beans and Brown Rice

Red Beans and Brown Rice is a very filling and flavorful Vegan Meal and if you ever read the label on a chili powder package you would blend your own spices as I do. The Spice Classics label uses chili pepper while I use the local hot pepper for flavor and paprika for the red color. I also use oregano and garlic as do they.

Now this is where the label gets interesting, they add more Silicone Dioxide (sand) to the blend then they do either Oregano or Garlic. Somehow, it never crossed my mind that I should add crushed rocks to my food. But then after raising a couple of children, I do accept that eating a little dirt every now and then never killed anyone. I just don’t like the idea of paying for it.

Over the past year I have made meals with similar ingredients but with each rendition, it has become allegedly healthier. The first time I made this meal, I used 4 ounces of Spam and black beans so an incredible 70% of the calories in the pot came from the fat associated with the Spam.

Upon reflection, I recognized that the spice blend was close to chili so that I could easily switch to Turkey Ham which sounds like a big improvement until you read the label. The one I purchased in a 2 pound block was more than 50% fat and looked and tasted like bologna which is fine if that’s the flavor you are looking for. I am using it up 4 ounces at a time and it should be done by next year some time.

This rendition which was excellent and was made vegan on purpose as I am doing my sort of traditional, Pre-holiday purge. I used red beans because I ran out of black beans and used olive oil to saute the onions, garlic and pepper.

Ingredients:

1 T. olive oil

1 onion chopped

1 tsp crushed garlic

thin slice scotch bonnet pepper, red pepper or other hot pepper

14.5 oz can of Red Kidney Beans with liquid

1 (15 0z ) can of crushed or diced tomatoes

1 can vegetable broth (15 oz.)

1/2 cup brown rice

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp oregano

1 tsp paprika

Salt to taste (optional)

Directions:

  1. Saute the olive oil, onion, garlic and hot pepper until the onion is glazed, this takes about 30 minutes in my unattended coffeepot and a lot less on the stove.

    Saute the olive oil, onion, garlic and hot pepper

  2. Add all the rest of the ingredients to the pot or add everything to the Crockpot. If cooking on the stove you will have to watch it simmer for the next 30-45 minutes or until the rice is done.

    Add all the rest of the ingredients to the pot

  3. If cooking in a crockpot on low or the coffeepot, cook for 4 -8 hours. After four hours it is done but left alone it is still fine after 8 hours and everything blends better with slow cooking.
  4. If you want to add Ham or Turkey ham add it when the onions are being sauteed so the flavors bend.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Vegan Red Beans and Brown Rice”

  1. Poppa John Says:

    This recipe is also featured in foodpress.com

    http://foodpress.com/featured-tags/vegetarian/

  2. Vegan Black Beans and Tomatoes with Brown Rice « Coffee Pot Cooking Says:

    [...] starting point was the red beans and brown rice which I had done a while back. In that recipe, I had started with uncooked rice and used vegetable [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

