Italian Vegetable Soup – Coffee Pot Style

by

I found the basis for this meal at the Faithful Foodie while Tag Surfing the Crockpot category which has some incredibly busy people who happen to be great cooks and need the flexibility of Crockpot cooking.

Now the picture of her meal was fantastic and since I liked the ingredients, I knew I had to adapt it to the coffee pot for a smaller portion. My picture looks a lot different for one main reasons. My extremely rough dicing gives it a “country look” but everything was well done and all of the flavors were ameliorated. I brought the leftovers to work and shared it with two west Indian Woman one of who is an excellent cook and they both loved it.

Naturally, I used the local scotch bonnet pepper and sliced a thin slice to be used. A whole pepper in less than a few of gallons of food is too hot for real flavor and detracts from the other flavors instead of complementing them.

Recipe:

5 oz. Baby spinach leaves I removed the long stems until I got bored.

1 medium carrot diced

1 stalk celery diced

1 clove garlic diced

1 can vegetable broth 16 oz

1 can (14.5 oz) diced plumb tomatoes with basil and oregano

1 small bay leaf

½ tsp basil

1 shake oregano – be careful this is a strong flavor but adds a lot

1 thin slice scotch bonnet pepper

This meal was so healthy I didn’t bother counting calories. It was filling as I only ate the bowl pictured and brought the rest to work. I believe the ½ bag of spinach was the most expensive item and the whole pot was under $5.00

I have added Faithful Foodie to my recipe hall of fame along with Jerlyn Thomas for her curry recipe.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Italian Vegetable Soup – Coffee Pot Style”

  1. faithfulfoodie Says:

    Poppa John, your version looks great! Thanks for mentioning the Faithful Foodie!

  2. Poppa John Says:

    There are good cooks that keep secrets and great ones that share recipes. I prefer to associate with and eventually become one of the great ones. Thank you for the starting point. I never would have tried a vegetarian meal without your picture and recipe.

  3. Minestrone – Coffeepot Style « Coffee Pot Cooking Says:

    […] over broth from the Italian Vegetable Soup (I ate all the firm […]

Leave a Reply

