Meals for One – Zuppa di Pomodoro Fredda

by

Dolores had about a 1000 cookbooks and I decided I would read them all before deciding what to keep and what to throw out.  So naturally I started with the thinnest and this little gem was in volume III of the Recipes of the Five Brothers. There are only 20 recipes in this book with 15 pictures  and I am sure I have eaten about ten of the meals so it’s pretty authentic Italian except for the shortcut of using their sauce and I believe most Italians cheat once in a while now that commercially prepared sauces are all pretty good. You can tell by this title that I really am somewhat of a food snob even though I still eat greasy kid’ stuff once in a while.

Chilled Tomato Soup – Zuppa di Pomodoro Fredda

cup to 10 oz. of Tomato Juice

cup Five Brothers Tomato Basil sauce or something close

1 medium cucumber seeded and diced

1/2 green bell pepper finely chopped

1-3 thinly sliced green onions (scallion) with junk removed

I Tablespoon Balsamic Vinegar

I clove garlic  finely chopped

Tablespoon extra virgin Olive oil

Tablespoon parsley – fresh if available

1/4 Teaspoon fresh ground black pepper

Stir ingredients, cover and place in refrigerator for at least 4 hours.  I left mine in overnight and it was great the next day.  Next time I am going to make a full batch and use a glass as my morning fruit substitute because it tastes so good.

Besides who wouldn’t want to say when somebody asks you what you had for dinner you say:

Zuppa di Pomodoro Fredda



Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Meals for One – Zuppa di Pomodoro Fredda”

  1. Poppa John Says:

    I made this recipe a second time and added a stick of celery and cut back on the scallion which is a strong flavor. The celery was a very positive change. I made a big pot with the intention of having it for breakfast instead of a glass of fruit juice, I had a small bowl this morning and it was great.

Leave a Reply

