One Pot – Two Meals!

by

Well It’s pretty obvious I eat everyday or I wouldn’t be so fat but I don’t always write about it.

I cook almost every day because I find it relaxing and it kills the couple of hours between, work, wine and bed while I eat a decent meal and research the next day’s food adventure. Since it’s more fun to research meals, create alternatives, cook and eat, sometimes there is no time left to write about the food although I am trying to get better at that.

After 43 years of marriage, Dolores and I stopped worrying and arguing about each others eating and drinking habits. Dolores loved pasta and that was another of those meals she would cook and eat every night if I agreed. She served it with French bread because that’s the way her family did it. Now unless it was some exotic pasta like cavatelli, gemelli or tortellini, I could skip the pasta and have an open faced sausage sandwich and be happy. Dolores preferred meatballs to sausage and I like meatball sandwiches almost as well.

I mean cooking Italian is so flexible why argue. The sauce could be just as easily prepared with both sausage and meatballs and Dolores always made enough pasta for two because she loved leftover pasta for lunch. I could have my open face sausage sandwich and she could have spaghetti and meatballs all from the same pot.

Because I don’t want any leftovers, I made the following meals on two different days.

Open Faced Sausage Sandwich Recipe

Sausage

Jar of your favorite prepared tomato souse – mine is one of the upscale tomato basil sauces although you can add extra basil and garlic to almost any good sauce and it will be fine.

Bread

Mozzarella shredded

Parmesan

Poke raw sausage with a fork and run 10 cups of water through the coffee maker to blanch the sausage.  Let cook about 10-30 minutes later drain off the water. The time is flexible and depends on whether I’m having a cup of tea or gone off to shower. Drain the water and add the jar of sauce to the pot.

When you get home from work (9-13 hours) and feel like eating, split the bread and place sausage on the bread, pore on extra sauce, smother with shredded mozzarella and sprinkle with desired amount of Parmesan.

Bon Appetit

Open Faced Meatball Sandwich

Substitute meatballs for sausage and just place them in the leftover sauce from the sausage sandwich or use fresh sauce if you have run out. I used frozen meatballs and put them frozen into the pot and let it cook all day while I was at work – Follow the procedure above to make the sandwich.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

