Slow Cook – Black Beans with Ham

by

Went back to Jen Fong Eats for another black bean recipe which I really never used when Dolores was alive. She preferred red beans and she always made the rice and usually any meal including beans. When we went out and it was on the menu, I would always order black bean soup which I like and I suppose that one of these days I will learn to make it.

In the meanwhile I adapted the Jen Fong Black bean with pork and tomatoes recipe to the tastes I like and it also served in getting rid of half a can of garbanzo beans which I also like and hate to waste.

Ingredients:

Tablespoon olive oil

2 small carrots sliced

1 celery stalk diced

½ onion diced

1 clove garlic minced

½ tsp cumin

½ tsp thyme

½ tsp paprika

piece bay lief

thin slice scotch bonnet pepper

4 oz. Diced cooked ham

small can (10 oz) black beans with liquid

½ can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes

½ can (14.5 oz) chicken broth

½ can (14.5 oz) garbanzos without the liquid (optional)

Method:

Put all ingredients up to and including ham into the coffepot and put on the hot plate, stir occasionally and go take your morning shower.

Stir again when you finish your shower and get back to the pot. Then add the rest of the canned products to the pot and cook covered all day.

When you return to the pot 10-12 hours later, take off the foil cover and let it cook down while you make the rice.

Serve over white rice as shown above. This actually made enough for two meals.

I have always loved the rice, meat  and beans type of meal so there are a few more to come.  My niece wants me to learn to make Arroz con polla which would be a step up as the rice would have to be made in the coffeepot.  I have yet to see an appetizing picture of rice made in a slow cooker which was not part of a soup or stew which look good.  Pictures of rice dishes look too moist and pasty to be considered as good rice.  Most look like oatmeal.

If anybody has a good recipe for a slow cooker I would love to see it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

