Butternut Squash Soup with Meatballs

by

 This recipe is a simple variant of the recipe for Acorn Squash Soup. I had purchased a butternut squash at the St. Croix Vegetable market and I liked the squash soup from a month ago so I decided to try it with the butternut squash. However I was in the mood for meat so decided I would keep it Italian and add a couple of meatballs. I keep a supply of meatballs on hand in the frozen 5 pound bag so that part was easy as was the whole meal

Ingredients:

 1 Tablespoon butter

1 small onion diced

1 small butternut squash

2 thin slices of hot pepper (Jalapeno)

1 can chicken broth

2 meatballs frozen and defrosted in microwave

Salt to taste

garnish with parsley

The butter and diced onion are placed in the coffepot and put on the hot plate. While the onion and hot pepper is being glazed, Peal and cube the squash and get rid of the skin and seeds. The squash was added to the pot and stirred with the onions and butter. Then the broth was added. Note since this is a meat based meal, I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth.

Another difference occurred because my blender was out on the counter from having made a slushy. So instead of using a potato masher, I used the blender. Be sure to remove the pepper before you blend the rest of the ingredients in the pot

The pureed soup was returned to the pot with the defrosted meatballs and cooked for another hour. The finished soup was garnished with parsley for appearance although I did eat the parsley.

If I had checked the nutrition label on the bag before I cooked the meatballs, I probably would have skipped them and the 150 calories from fat.  Well at least with portion control I am still better off.  In the old days I would have eaten 4 and included pasta in the soup.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

