Rasta Pasta – Version 1.0

by

Vegan Rasta Pasta

My friend Jerlyn enjoys cooking and eating as much as I do but she still manages to stay in much better shape. She takes pictures of her attractive meals even if she is eating out. The one that caught my eye was Rasta Pasta which was the traditional colors of Red,Yellow and Green.

When I asked her about the meal she said she ordered it at a restaurant and then Googled it for me to find a recipe. Hell I know how to Google and when I used to care, I even took a course in Google Dorking for security purposes.

After doing my search I was not very close to something that either looked as good as what Jerlyn ate or had ingredients I would really want in a pasta dish.

So in Version 1.0, I decided on simplicity. I used the tri-colored pasta which has very gentle pastel equivalents for red and green but it did add to the appearance of the finished meal. For the sauce, the recipe is as follows.

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon Olive Oil

2 cloves garlic minced

1 medium onion rough cut

1 thin slice scotch bonnet pepper

1 red bell pepper

1 yellow bell pepper

1 green bell pepper

2 cans diced organic tomatoes

1 sprig basil

½ tsp oregano

½ tsp salt

As usual, the onion, garlic and hot scotch bonnet pepper were sauteed in the oil for about ½ hour. Then the peppers were added to the pot.

Peppers in the Pot

Next, I added one can of tomatoes and all the spices and salt were added and the other can of tomatoes added on top of the spices. I did not stir the mixture until the peppers were cooked which was about five more hours.

Tomatoes and Basil in the Pot

The introductory picture is the vegan style meal but since I am not even a practicing vegetarian, I ate it with Parmesan cheese.

Served with Grated Cheese

This was good, but I have a few ideas on how to make it even prettier the next time I serve it, so you can expect Version 1.1 in the near future.  Also since I am not a vegetarian and many recipes call for chicken, I will give that a try.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Rasta Pasta – Version 1.0”

  1. Rasta Pasta – Version 1.0 | rssblogstory.com Says:

    […] Visit Author:https://coffeepotcooking.wordpress.com/2010/06/06/rasta-pasta-version-1-0/ […]

Leave a Reply

