Leftovers- Truly Wasted Calories!

by

Deviled Eggs

In my youth, when I had a constant companion in my wife and was not built like Buddha, I could eat wha ever I wanted and often that entailed eating appetizers for two with a little wine of course. Now when I cook a meal with leftovers, I eat them even if I am not really hungry and I certainly don’t need the extra  calories. So that’s why Meals for One is so important to me.  However,  in my first attempt at Coffee Pot cooking, I made six eggs and ate one right away to test the success and used two more for an egg salad sandwich.  So what happened to the other three, I turned them into deviled eggs and ate them as a snack before the next night’s dinner. I am not proud of this so I never posted the recipe.

Leftovers – truly wasted calories!

So in my early cooking I learned to carefully fill the pot with the amount I should eat and nothing extra. I have to admit the deviled eggs were excellent and in my ill spent youth, I could conceive of cooking them in my dorm room and inviting someone up for appetizers and wine and also to show her how clever I am.

Deviled eggs are easy to make the tricky part is to balance the other ingredients to the amount and size of the available yolks. To solve this when making small amounts, I  crush the yolks in one bowl and mix all the ingredients in the other and then I add a teaspoon of the mixture to the yolks until it reaches a point that I like the appearance and flavor.

Ingredients

Deviled Eggs

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon Mayonnaise

2 Tablespoon Mustard

1 Tablespoon sweet relish

2 tsp chopped onion.

1 tsp horseradish (use leftover horseradish for kielbasa or Bloody Marys.

Salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the above and add it teaspoon by teaspoon to the crushed egg yolks. Adjust the salt and pepper when the desired texture is reached. I like mine on the very moist side. Scoup the mixture back into the egg whites and sprinkle with Paprika.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

