Thai Chicken and Ginger Stir Fry

by

Stir Fry Chicken and Ginger over White Rice

I consider Stir Fried Chicken with Ginger my first total immersion into Thai Cooking and it was a fantastic success. I have never cooked oriental foods as I enjoy the much richer flavors of Caribbean and Italian Cooking to commercially available Chinese stuff or the complexity of preparation  and unavailable vegetables in the Japanese foods.

However, my visitor from Thailand (Tes at Homewarming) who has her own Food and Life Blog,  loves to cook any style and reports on present successes and past failures and is very responsive to all questions about recipes and potential substitute ingredients. When Tes said there is no substitute for Asian Fish Sauce, I held off until I stumbled across some in a local grocery store and amazingly, young fresh ginger was also available at the same time.

After tasting the Fish Sauce and Fresh Ginger, I am convinced you could substitute anchovy paste or mashed anchovies at the rate of one Teaspoon of cured anchovy for a Tablespoon of Fish Sauce but there is absolutely no substitute for the taste of Fresh Ginger so don’t even think about the powdered stuff.

Her recipes have an Indian influence as she lived in India for a period of time and of course Indian flavors have influenced Caribbean Foods so maybe it’s just Tes Food that I’m craving but she has listed separately Thai Foods and I trust her list to be authentic.

Now Tes never warned anyone that this recipe is a race against the clock, so if you cannot move quickly, cook rice and stir fry at the same time don’t even start. And Tes I forgot to mention, in America, we call Corn Flour – Corn Starch which from context I recognized as one of our traditional thickening agents or at least that was my working assumption.

Regardless, I have a hard time conceiving of a more perfect combination of ingredients so thanks for the recipe. This was cooked in my electric Fondue Pot which is extremely versatile in making “meals for one”

Tes Stir Fried Chicken with Ginger

Ingredients:

2 Tablespoons Oil

1 piece chicken breast cubed

1 thumb sized piece of ginger

1 hot pepper ( I used a local scotch bonnet which I gently bruised with the flat of a knife)

2 cloves garlic sliced

1 small onion sliced

1 Tablespoon soy sauce

½ tsp salt

1 tsp brown sugar

1 Tablespoon Fish Sauce

1 tsp corn starch slurried in a small amount of water

Peel the Fresh Young Ginger

Cube the chicken into bite sized pieces, peel the ginger and start the water for the rice. Slice the garlic and onions and add the rice to the pot and bring to a boil then turn to low, you know have 20 minutes of working time so be sure to remember to turn the rice off when done.

Sliced Ginger

Slice the ginger into matchstick sized pieces – not French Fry sized. I started by cutting the ginger in half so I always had a flat side to cut against.

Gather Together All Ingredients

Gather all your ingredients and heat the Pot to about 260 Fahrenheit. Add oil, bruised hot pepper and garlic and sauté until garlic is golden brown. Add the chicken, soy sauce, sugar, salt and stir for five minutes. Then I tested the chicken and wisely removed the hot pepper at this point.

Everything but Ginger and Onion

Add ¼ cup of water and bring to a boil. Your rice should be done at this point so turn it off and let it sit Everything moves very quickly from now on.

Add the ginger and onion and stir for a few seconds; add the fish sauce and stir again, add the the cornstarch slurried in water (stir until smooth before adding), stir the pot to create a slightly thick sauce.

I have never tasted anything like this – simple and simply fantastic.

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “Thai Chicken and Ginger Stir Fry”

  1. Tes Says:

    Poppa John,
    Thanks so much for mentioning this recipe and I’ve tried it and liked it 🙂
    This really make my day. You did such a wonderful job with the dish. People might confuse that you are from Thailand now 🙂
    I’ve move homewarming to the new address at http://tesathome.com/
    You will always be very welcome in our home.
    Have a wonderful day,
    Tes

    • Poppa John Says:

      Tes, Caribbean people use lots of salted codfish where you wash out the salt and cook the fish in a sauce to moisten it. I keep a few pounds on hand for hurricane supplies. I think this recipe would adapt well to fish. Any thoughts – Are you familiar with salt fish – this is white bland meat not the dark one

  2. Tes’ Beef Noodle Soup « Coffee Pot Cooking Says:

    […] hotel room where we did a stir dry chicken in my coffeepot which was quite good. My next shot was a chicken and ginger stir fry which was fantastic so when Dagny asked if I had any recipes that highlighted Chines five spice […]

Leave a Reply

