Vegetarian Carrot Soup or Potage Crecey

by

Potage Crecey - Purred Carrot Soup

Potage Crecey is one of those old fashioned soups that I first started cooking when 30 years ago or the first time I was chronically unemployed in the Virgin Islands. The recipe is from the Larousse Gastronomique and I would not recommend the new edition because it is a $75 dumbed down version of the hurricane damaged copy I still use.

This is one of those messy old fashioned soups that was pureed using a sieve, then I used my food processor and now that I discovered my blender does an easier to cleanup version with a slightly different texture, I may make it more often.

I made this soup twice this year, once with my mini food processor which made a mess of my kitchen and once using my blender. The big difference, in addition to texture, is the quantity you can make. A professional chef could use a food processor to make soup for hundreds whereas the blender is superior in ease of use when making meals for one. I actually prefer the texture of a totally pureed soup so I am lucky to be able to make my soup for one or two.

Vegetarian Carrot Soup or Potage Crecey

Ingredients

Ingredients:

3 Tablespoons Butter

1 Onion diced

1 clove garlic minced

2 stalks celery

1 thin slice scotch bonnet hot pepper or equivalent (optional)

4 carrots either food processed or coined.

1 Tablespoon Fresh Parsley (½ dried)

½ teaspoon thyme

½ teaspoon rosemary

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon brown sugar

2 oz sherry

1 can vegetable broth 14.5 oz

Prepare everything on the list up to the carrots and put into the coffeepot and start to saute.(remove the slice of hot pepper before the carrots are added.)

Shredding the Carrots

If using the food processor, shred the carrots and add to the pot or else coin the carrots and add to the pot. Add all the rest of the spices and sherry and continue to simmer for ½ hour stirring occasionally.

Simmering the Carrots and Onions

Add the broth and let cook all day.

All in the Pot and Cooking

If you used the food processor to shred the carrots you are done. This is show below served with grilled tomato and cheese sandwiches.

Carrot Soup with Grilled Cheese and Tomato

If you coined the carrots, pore the pot into the blender, liquify and serve. Either way I love my carrot soup, the blender is just easier to clean and not as messy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

