Your Choice, Pickled Beets or Pickled Red Beet Eggs

by

Pickled Red Beet Eggs

Before my Picture Perfect Borscht, the only other form of beets I would eat was pickled beets. Now that I am eating healthier, I have been including the pickled beets in my salads and enjoying them more. That reminded me of that old bar room appetizer of my ill spent youth, the Red Pickled Egg. Since you always ate them whole, I never realized how attractive they are until now and served these eggs cut in half on a tray with the accompanying pickled onions and beets as a side dish. This recipe is very flexible and there is enough liquid to pickle 0 to 12 eggs.

3 Hard Boiled Eggs, shelled

Ingredients:

1 can of beets, 15 ounce

1 onion sliced thin

3 hard boiled eggs, shelled

2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar

1 thin slice Scotch Bonnet pepper.

½ cup white vinegar

Directions:

  1. Drain liquid from beets into coffee pot, add Brown Sugar,hot pepper and vinegar to the pot and place on the warmer to heat.
  2. Place layers of sliced on on the bottom of your container or widemouthed jar and place pealed whole eggs on top.

    Add beets and the rest of the onions

  3. Add beets and the rest of the onions to the container.

    Poor the warm liquid over the beets

  4. When all the sugar has dissolved, remove and discard the hot pepper slice (or not for hotter flavor) and poor the warm liquid over the beets.
  5. After one day the beets have full flavor after 3 days they color goes to the yoke.

After one day the beets have full flavor

With the pepper removed as above, this is a mild yet flavorful variant of Red Pickled Beet Eggs made with white sugar and no hot pepper.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Your Choice, Pickled Beets or Pickled Red Beet Eggs”

  1. ninnys1 Says:

    So colourful and it’s something I would eat. 🙂

  2. Poppa John Says:

    Thanks for stopping buy, you have a lot of great pictures on your site.

  3. Your Choice, Pickled Beets or Pickled Red Beet Eggs (via Coffee Pot Cooking) | Ninny's Nest Says:

    […] Your Choice, Pickled Beets or Pickled Red Beet Eggs (via Coffee Pot Cooking) Posted on December 6, 2010 by ninnys1| Leave a comment Before my Picture Perfect Borscht, the only other form of beets I would eat was pickled beets. Now that I am eating healthier, I have been including the pickled beets in my salads and enjoying them more. That reminded me of that old bar room appetizer of my ill spent youth, the Red Pickled Egg. Since you always ate them whole, I never realized … Read More […]

  4. Poppa John Says:

    Wow I made Food Press –

    http://foodpress.com/featured-tags/side-dishes/?offset=10

  5. ninnys1 Says:

    Wonderful 🙂

Leave a Reply

