Super Vegan Acorn Squash Soup

by

Super Vegan Acorn Squash Soup

Whenever I find a recipe I like, I try to tweak it and improve it. Most of the time it’s different but still good, very rarely is it weaker and occasionally you hit a rock your socks improvement. My adjustments are small. If it’s 90% vegetarian with the exception of chicken broth and butter why not try it with vegetable broth and olive oil and make it vegan especially when you cook for friends who are vegetarians. They will appreciate the effort.

My friend Vanise is not a pure vegetarian but leans in that direction by preference. When eating out or ordering a plate of food to go, she will usually order a vegetarian meal. I eat almost anything of any genre as long as it has bold flavors and is not sweet. I love to make people happy with my cooking so if I know what your favorite is and it’s a rich spicy food, I am going to do my best to make you happy and cook your meal your way. It simply never crossed my mind that anybody would compare the rich cheese flavor of the Penne and Cauliflower in white sauce to a vegan soup.

But I got over it when I recognized that both were creamy rich sauces with bold flavors and pasta. Vanise loved the cauliflower meal but loved the acorn squash soup even more. This meal started with a recipe for Italian Pumpkin soup which immediacy morphed into an acorn squash soup and now that I have added bay, deleted butter and changed to vegetable broth and eliminated Parmesan, we have arrived at our Souper Vegan Acorn Squash.

Ingredients:

1 T. olive oil

1 medium onion diced

2 garlic cloves

1 thin slice hot pepper (scotch bonnet, optional)

1 Bay leaf

1 small acorn squash

1 can (15 oz.) vegetable broth

1 tsp. Salt

½ cup elbow macaroni

Fresh ground white pepper and nutmeg to taste

Directions:

  1. Saute onion, garlic, olive oil, hot pepper and bay in the coffeepot for ½ hour.

    Saute onion, garlic, olive oil, hot pepper and bay

  2. Peel and cube the acorn squash. Get rid of skins and seeds.

    Peel and clean the acorn squash

  3. Take out the hot pepper slice and add the squash and broth to the pot. Cook for 2 hours until squash is soft to a fork.

    Add the squash and broth to the pot

  4. Remove Bay leaf and puree the rest of the soup in a blender. Return it to the coffeepot and hot plate.

    Remove Bay leaf and puree the rest of the soup

  5. About ½ hour before serving add the elbow macaroni to the pot.
  6. Serve with fresh grated white pepper and nutmeg.

Even though the whole pot only contained 750 calories with about 1/3  from the olive oil, this was actually enough for two people. I had mine for dinner and Vanise had hers for lunch when she stopped by to check on me the next day. It is very flavorful and filling. It just happens to be vegan.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Super Vegan Acorn Squash Soup”

  1. What do you do with Broccoli Stems? « Coffee Pot Cooking Says:

    […] them and combined it with an equal amount of butternut squash and followed the recipe for the my Vegan Acorn Squash Soup . Now just to let my sense of humor kick in I served it to my children and their friends who all […]

  2. Pumpkin-Broccoli Soup for Vegans, Vegetarians and Carnivores « Coffee Pot Cooking Says:

    […] and the final is carnivore. The recipe for the soup is not repeated because I basically followed the recipe for Super Vegan Acorn Squash Soup and left out the macaroni and substituted the cubed pumpkin and broccoli stems for the acorn […]

Leave a Reply

