Mom’s Simple Cottage Cheese and Noodles

by

Mom's Simple Cottage Cheese and Noodles

My mom was a secret snacker but with 3 teenage boys around the house she didn’t have much chance of setting aside anything for her personal indulgence except perhaps beets and cottage cheese which none of her young sons would eat no matter how healthy they are for you. This side dish was one of her afternoon snacks which she prepared in a total cooking time of less than 15 minutes.

My wife also made a variant of this where she added Worcestershire Sauce and served it as a side dish when she got tired of Pasta, Rice and Potatoes which was almost never because she could eat Italian food every night. The only reason I left the Worcestershire Sauce out was because I don’t like the brown color which it creates but it does add a nice flavor for those who are not really fond of cottage cheese.

Ingredients:

½ cup cottage cheese

1-2 Tablespoons Sour Cream

2 green onions (scallions) sliced in short pieces

1 cup noodles

Salt to Taste

Directions:

  1. Put water to boil and prepare the noodles as directed on the package
  2. Mix the Cottage Cheese, sour cream, and green onions in a bowl.

    Mix the Cottage Cheese, sour cream, and green onions

  3. Add the noodles to the bowl and gently fold it all together.

    Add the noodles

  4. Serve room temperature or chilled.

I like cottage cheese alone but somehow this little extra effort seems to make my meal special, especially when I am  eating alone. The meal is no longer a necessity, it’s a special event.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Mom’s Simple Cottage Cheese and Noodles”

  1. Tes Says:

    Wow this noodle dish sounds super easy and yummy 🙂 Sound like a great comfort food.

  2. Poppa John Says:

    I love cottage cheese so this is simple and adds flavor. For some reason when I eat cottage cheese alone I add a lot of pepper. With this dish, I added salt which I rarely do and no pepper. Don’t know why probably the noodles need the salt.

  3. Poppa John Says:

    Tes, in terms of comfort food, I had very pleasant thoughts of my wife and Mother while cooking it so it was comforting this time of year.

  4. Babygirl Says:

    I’ve never heard of this but this sounds really good.

Leave a Reply

