Crucian Butternut Squash Fritters

by

Crucian Butternut Squash Fritters Served with King Fish

Butternut squash is one of those vegetable which grows in abundance in St. Croix so the Crucian refers to the nativity of the vegetable. While I have never been served a Butternut Squash fritter in St. Croix a fritter is  fried batter containing fruit or meat or vegetables so you can use what you like.

Locally pumpkin is the most common vegetable fritter and they are very good. This recipe is close to those for pumpkin fitters with the spices kicked up a notch by the addition of fresh grated ginger and nutmeg. I had a butternut squash in the refrigerator and was looking for something new to do with it other than soup or baked with butter and brown sugar when this popped into my mind. So I figured, Why Not?

The procedure is pretty much the same as preparing pumpkin fritters and they came out really well. To start, peal the butternut squash, remove the top part and cut the bottom in half to remove the seeds. Cube everything and put it in water and boil until soft. Mash the squash and put in a measuring cup to make sure you have about the right amount. (a one pound squash gave me 1 ½ cup of cooked mashed squash)

Ingredients:

1 ½ to 2 cups mashed butternut squash

¼ cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

½ tsp cinnamon

½ tsp fresh ground ginger

¼ tsp fresh ground nutmeg

1 egg

1 cup flour

½ cup water

Directions:

  1. Mash the boiled butternut squash and add brown sugar to the bowl.

    Mashed squash and brown sugar

  2. Mix it into the squash. (I used the potato masher and did it all by hand.)
  3. Add the vanilla and spices and mix it into the squash and sugar until uniform.

    Add spices and blend until uniform

  4. Add the egg and blend. I used a whisk for the rest of the steps.

    Add the egg and blend

  5. Add the flour and mix until uniform.

    Mix in the flour

  6. Add the water and mix until done. ( I used some water I boiled the squash in.)
  7. Fry until Golden Brown.

    Fry until golden brown

  8. Serve as a side dish Crucian style. I have been served pumpkin fritters for breakfast, brunch and Lunch and dinner.

    A super side-dish for breakfast lunch or dinner

Well I made six and ate three as a snack while preparing the meal but I still have a lot of batter left. I refrigerated the rest and will add a comment about how long it lasts and tastes good. I hate to waste any food but even worse I no longer care to overeat or eat the same thing every night so I hope it keeps. I know my daughter is going to love this recipe as she loves to maintain island traditions and teach her daughters about them.

Of course I served it with a piece of King Fish prepared in the local manner which is to wash the fish with lime juice, season with Adobo, and fry for 2-3 minutes per side for moist fish. Adobo is a Puerto Rican Seasoned Salt. The bottle by the plate is locally made hot sauce which is traditionally used to spice up fried fish and almost everything else.

Naturally, for a typical Crucian meal, I simply could not resist using Ginger Thomas, the National Flower of the Virgin Islands, as the garnish.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Crucian Butternut Squash Fritters”

  1. Poppa John Says:

    This actually made foodpress.com in 3 categories; Brunch, vegetarian and side dishes.

  2. Poppa John Says:

    I held the dough in the refrigerator for a week and there was a little separation of liquid, but after I stirred it, and fried it, the fritters were still great. My niece and I had them Christmas Day for brunch and she loved them.

Leave a Reply

