Puerto Rican Turkey Stew

by

Puerto Rican Turkey Stew

Whenever I think or Puerto Rican food, I think of my friend Chino (Guillermo Gonzalez ) who loved to cook and share his food and recipes. I simply cannot look at a recipe for Hispanic food and not think about how Chino would have made it. He loved to use fresh parsley and garlic, Spanish style tomato sauce, capers and stuffed Spanish olives. I believe that that was the only dividing point my wife ever had with Chino as she loved everything about him except for the Spanish Olives.

She cooked Italian with black olives and Greek with Kalamata Olives but just didn’t like the flavor of Spanish Olives stuffed or otherwise. I love all foods but before you include them in a recipe, eat a couple from the jar and if you don’t like the flavor don’t add them to the recipe.

This recipe started life at a Goya foods recipe site but I just had to modify it  to do what my friend Chino would have done. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention, Chino loved to cook with Rum. While he was strictly a beer drinker he added wine or rum to most of his meals when cooking.

Ingredients:

2 T. extra virgin olive oil

1 onion coarsely chopped

3 cloves garlic minced

1 bay leaf

1 thin slice of fresh hot pepper or ½ tsp crushed red pepper

2 pieces raw turkey (I used steake slices from the leg)

1-2 oz. Crucian Dark Rum or Cooking wine (optional)

½ cup or ½ can tomatoes diced – no juice from the can

1 /2 tsp oregano

½ tsp salt

1 tsp capers

6 Spanish olives sliced

1 can Goya Spanish Style Tomato Sauce (8 oz)

Directions:

  1. Place oil, onions, garlic, bay, and hot pepper into the pot.
  2. Cook until onions glaze over about ½ hour in coffeepot.
  3. Add the turkey and rum and cover the pot with foil.

    Add the Turkey and Rum to the Pot

  4. Cook until meat is partially cooked, about 1 hour more.
  5. Add everything else except the Tomato Sauce and cook for another 1-2 hours turning the meat at least once.

    Add everything else except the Tomato Sauce

  6. Add the Tomato Sauce and let come to serving Temperature 1-2 hours
  7. Serve over rice. Your choice, white, seasoned or brown rice.

The only other ingredient which I am certain that both my Daughter and Chino would have used, and I am not sure why Goya didn’t tout their own product, is a package of Sazon Goya. This spice blend is supposed to add color and even more flavor to a wonderful meal. As shown above I doubt it could be more colorful and the flavor was already fantastic but I probably would have added it if reminded by Goya.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Puerto Rican Turkey Stew”

  1. Yashyra Gonzalez Says:

    Hello John this dish was a great one. I hope all is well. By the way I love the site.

  2. Poppa John Says:

    Hello Yashyra, thanks for stopping buy. It’s obvious that I still think of your Dad a lot while cooking. Just search “Chino’ in my blog search and check it out. Hope all is well with you and I hope I bring back good memories which is all I want an my age.

Leave a Reply

