Super Healthy Yams

by
Super Healthy Yams as a Side Dish

Super Healthy Yams as a Side Dish

I had made up my mind that I wanted baked sweet potatoes served in their skin and smothered in butter for dinner. The problem was that there were none on St. Croix along with the fact that their also isn’t any cold or snow so I suffer through a few culinary shortages. Without thinking I picked up a couple of yams and got them home before I remember all my reasons for not eating them on a regular basis.

When baked, they are dryer and harder than a true sweet potato so people feel the need to smother them in brown sugar and butter which usually caramelizes into black gunk or smother them in cute little pink and white marshmallows which clash with the orange food. As I started preparation I got the usual chorus of “don’t make any for me”. That got me to thinking of making boiled mashed yams without brown or white sugar and especially no artificial chemical substances designed to trick our taste buds into believing that God given sugar is present.

The cleaned and diced yams were cooked for about 30 minutes and a test piece was tender enough to mash with a fork. Sugar free yams are a heart healthy product that controls blood sugar and contributes to weight loss in addition to other health benefits. The butter helps solubilize the beta carotene so it passes to your blood. I selected four spices from the list of the 10 healthiest spices to prevent cancer and improve your health on the basis that the four are very compatible flavors often found working together in Indian and West Indian foods.

I had finished preparing all the food and ran to my bedroom to get my camera for some beautiful food shots and found that the food was already on the table and a slight bit messy I might add. Oh well, it’s Christmas and everything was delicious even in the photos were not up to the standards of Tes and Monica. Everybody who said “don’t make any for me I don’t eat yams” ate there fill and I ended up with no leftovers. (There was leftover duck, white potatoes and Lima beans.)

Ingredients:

2 yams

1 teaspoon shaved ginger

3 minced loves fresh or 1 T. crushed Garlic

½ tsp cumin

2 T butter

½ tsp turmeric

Directions:

  1. Clean and cube yams.
  2. Shave ginger and prepare garlic

    Shaved Ginger

  3. Put yams, garlic and ginger in a pot and cover with water
  4. Bring to a boil and simmer for ½ hour

    Cook the yams, garlic and ginger

  5. When tender pour through a fine colander preserving the garlic and ginger.
  6. Add the butter and the rest of the spices
  7. Mash with potato masher.

    Mashed spiced yams

  8. Serve as a wonderful side dish.

Another four spices on the 10 healthiest list that would probably work as well are the combination found in many Pumpkin Pie recipes: Ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves. I plan to try that in the future once again without sugar but since there is never any sugar in Indian Recipes, I started with a known winner.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

