Cait’s Enchiladas – A guest Posting by Cait

by
Cait Cooking Her Way

Cait Cooking Her Way

As it is Christmas time and no one should be alone for the holidays, I took one for the team and came to visit the coffee pot cooking Fat Savage himself in paradise. Fortunately this wonderful trip has allowed me to avoid being home for the blizzard in the northeast and to enjoy snorkeling, hiking, and much rum. In an effort to show my uncle a little appreciation for our daily adventures, the delicious meals he’s been cooking me every night and the fact that I’m not currently shoveling snow, I decided it might be nice to relieve him of cooking duties for an evening.

Cait's Enchiladas

This marks the first time I have cooked an entire meal for my dearest Poppa John so I had to bring my A game. During our morning hike to Point Udall, I was trying to figure out what would make the most perfectly delicious meal that I knew he would truly enjoy and not just inhale like the savage he can sometimes be. While reviewing the pictures from our morning adventure, I found the picture of the enchiladas, saffron rice and salad that I had made for a friend. He appreciated how pretty my picture had come out and being that my enchiladas have lots of healthy ingredients that should not be a detriment to his diet , I decided this way the way to go.

After a lazy day of soaking in the rays while sitting by the pool, I went back to the house to prepare our lovely meal. Poppa John was wonderful! He left me in the kitchen all by myself and only briefly interrupted for a photo op of the first time he has seen me being domestic and taking command of the kitchen.

Dinner for Two Overlooking Christiansted

He also set the table on the back gallery so we could enjoy the stars while overlooking the lights of Christiansted.

Ingredients:

1 lb. Ground Beef

½ Red Bell Pepper chopped

½ Yellow Bell Pepper chopped

½ Red Onion chopped

1 bunch of Scallions chopped

1 – 15.5 oz can Black Beans

¼ cup Sour Cream

½ cup Salsa

1 tsp. minced Garlic

8 oz. Shredded Taco Cheese

2 – 10z cans of Enchilada Sauce

8 Large Tortillas

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 350°F
  2. Brown the Ground Beef
  3. Combine browned Ground Beef, Red Bell Pepper, Yellow Bell Pepper, Red onion, 2/3 of the Scallions, Black Beans, Sour Cream, Salsa, Garlic, 6 oz. Cheese, and 5 oz. Enchilada Sauce
  4. Add 3 heaping table spoons of the filling into a tortilla
  5. Roll the tortilla and add to a baking pan
  6. Repeat Steps 4 & 5 until all the filling as been used
  7. Pour the remaining enchilada sauce over the enchiladas in the pan
  8. Sprinkle on the remaining cheese and scallions
  9. Cover with aluminum foil and bake at 350°F for 30 min
  10. Remove aluminum foil and bake for 10 min or until cheese is lightly browned
  11. Allow to cool for 5 min and serve to hungry people

After the first bite, my uncle started telling me that dinner was delicious. The compliments continued throughout the entire meal and when he was finished he said “I think those may be the best enchiladas I’ve ever had!” He proceeded to call his daughter, Dagny (who is known by friends and family to have sensational enchiladas and who gave me a starting point for my own recipe) and told her to let me cook mine for her. Score!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Cait’s Enchiladas – A guest Posting by Cait”

  1. enrimbire Says:

    our websitecooking cafe

  2. Stuffed Shells, the Drag Queen of Coffeepot Mac and Cheese « Coffee Pot Cooking Says:

    […] and loves to cook with me. Our sharing the kitchen has been written about before when she did a guest post on making Enchiladas and when we had our Christmas Flat Bread Pizza Contest for the most artistic Pizza Pie. This trip […]

  3. Chicken Enchiladas « Dinner By Dagny Says:

    […] recipe and regularly mixes it up with ground beef or turkey, sour cream, peppers and onions (see Cait’s recipe, which my Poppa John declared better than mine).  These simple changes can give a whole new taste […]

Leave a Reply

