French Fried Yams – Broadening My Horizons

by

Seasoned French Fried Yams

As I write this post, I am weighing 170 pounds which is down about 95 pounds from my peak including a loss of 75 pounds over the past two years as documented in this blog. Regular readers recognize it has not been an easy period in my life cycle as I have had to deal with the death of my wife, my mother, mother-in-law and some very dear friends but that is part of the life cycle. I have also had to address health issues of a very minor stroke, disc replacement surgery and and a bad back. This is also part of the life cycle.

On the other side, I now have the resting heartbeat of an athletic 18 year old (below 50); I have the energy to walk 35 miles per week and still work in my yard every day; I have reduced my blood pressure medicine four fold; I still skip with my granddaughters; and I even jog on occasion, especially when I am showing off for other senior citizens or running with my granddaughters.

As far as cooking and food goes, I use my coffeepot for convenience in the same way a family of four would depend on their Crockpot. I sometimes use the stove and charcoal grill, but have learned to cook portion controlled meals for one with no leftovers. I now have more energy to be physical and less time for the computer. Therefor, I am more focused on the exercise and physical side of a healthy life than I am on controlling my meals and writing about it. Also, since this is a blog about coffeepot cooking, I don’t usually post recipes cooked on the stove.

The problem with not formally documenting my recipes is that when I want to repeat a meal or my daughter asks me about what I did a few months later, I have to start all over with hours hunting for the recipe. I really have never been organized with my recipes except at coffeepot cooking.

French fried yams is really not an old recipe or one pulled from on-line. It is a variant of the Yams that Cait and I cooked at Christmas a year ago. I loved the flavor but I also liked fried food which I only eat at home where I know what oil was used and how old it is. Last night was fried fish, and I just didn’t feel like traditional French fried white potatoes. I pulled the spice blend from the previous Yam recipe which was a hit and decided to try the seasoning with fried Yams. They were great and I will definitely do them again over Christmas so that is a good reason to write down the recipe.

Seasoned French Fried Yams

Spice Blend

½ tsp ginger

½ tsp powered garlic

½ tsp cumin

½ tsp turmeric

1 yam sliced into 1/8 to ¼ inch slices

Blend spices in zip lock bag and shake until blended. Add sliced yam and shake until evenly coated. Heat oil on medium flame until it reaches 360 Fahrenheit. Cook for five minutes or until floating. Drain and dry with paper towels.

Enjoy!!! These were quite good and different for a change of pace.

End note: I use a tall asparagus cooker that came with a removable basket as my deep fat fryer for one. This tall but narrow pot takes about 1 ½ quarts or liters to fill it half way which allows more than enough room when the moist potatoes bubble up when first added to the pot.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

