Just for Fun: Soft Boiled Eggs and Coffee

by

Soft Boiled Egg on Toast with Coffee

I haven’t written very many recipes in my blog in the last couple of weeks as I have been busy working on my book entitled: “An Introduction to Coffeepot Cooking: How I Lost 101 pounds with Portioned Controlled Meals.” However, as I am preparing a chapter of a dozen sample recipes, I noticed that most of my meals focused on portion controlled dinners and also, I had never made coffee in my coffeepot in the 2 ½ years I have been cooking in it. For a broader presentation, I decided to include a simple breakfast of soft boiled eggs and coffee in the chapter of sample recipes.

Most of the meals published in the sample chapter require very little attention with regard to cooking time and once everything is in the pot, the meal can pretty much be ignored until it is done and you are ready to eat. Soft boiled eggs present a unique challenge whether you are doing it on the stove pot or in the coffeepot. My wife liked 3-4 minute eggs and made them perfect every time. When she ordered soft boiled eggs at a restaurant, it was hit or miss meal, and even worse in Virginia, it was illegal to make it her way. Seems, the egg white must be thoroughly cooked above 140 degrees which means the white is rubbery, and the yoke starting to solidify. That is hardly a soft boiled egg.

Because of the need to pay careful attention to the critical timing, I never really cooked soft boiled eggs in my coffeepot. There are also a couple of other reasons including the fact that I rarely eat a structured breakfast but settle for a piece of fruit and some tea to start my day. I am far more likely to build a meal around eggs for dinner. Soft boiled eggs turned out to be remarkably simple based on the experiments with meals I had made involving hard boiled eggs and how long that took.

I verified by cooking some eggs and at twenty minutes, both the egg white and yoke are runny or about the same as a two minute egg. At thirty minutes, the white is mostly solidified and the yoke is still runny, just like a 3 minute egg. At forty minutes, the white is all solid and the yoke has the texture of cold butter which can be spread but breaks apart. Above an hour you have a fully cooked hard boiled egg.

Ingredients:

Eggs

Coffee

Water

Dairy and sugar to taste

Method:

Eggs in Coffeepot, Coffee in Filter, Water in Tank
All Ready to Go!

  1. Place two eggs in the coffeepot. (The pot will actually hold about six eggs without changing cooking times too much.)
  2. Add 1 Tablespoon of ground coffee per 5 oz cup of water. (Check the coffee label to be sure)
  3. Add the appropriate amount of water. (about 5-6 cups to cover 2 eggs. Less for more eggs.)
  4. Cook the appropriate amount of time for the type eggs you want. (go take a shower or read)
  5. If you like, take off a cup of coffee while the eggs continue to cook.
  6. Make toast in a toaster of serve with fresh bread or roll.

    Soft Boiled Egg, Ready to Eat

  7. Enjoy.

I’m sorry the pictures are a little on the dark side, but I am really not at my best early in the morning but the eggs and coffee were good.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Just for Fun: Soft Boiled Eggs and Coffee”

  1. susartandfood Says:

    At our house I’m the queen of the poached egg. For some reason no one else can manage one. Maybe they just say that so I’ll do it for them 🙂

    • Poppa John Says:

      My wife was good at that too. Perhaps you didn’t notice my lack of a post on poached eggs. I tried it in the coffeepot with every trick known to man including vinegar, swirling water etc. Every attempt looked like egg drop soup. I really don’t do much better on the stove top. Guess I’ll stick to soft boiled which I can do both ways.

  2. Carol Says:

    i just made coffee in my coffee pot this morning,never even thought to put egg’s in as well!good idea!love it!

Leave a Reply

