Pumpkin-Broccoli Soup for Vegans, Vegetarians and Carnivores

by

Vegan Pumpkin and Broccoli Stem Soup

I am not really working on healthy eating other than controlling the amount I eat. I just happen to like very weird foods. Once I found out that you could cook broccoli stems into a very pleasant soup, I expanded my horizon by making an acorn squash and broccoli stem soup. Recently, the price of pumpkin got as low as 38 cents per pound and I had some leftover broccoli stems that I had saved so I made a vegan pumpkin-broccoli soup based on my acorn combination.

Vegetarian Pumpkin and Broccoli Stem Soup

I also have friends with weird preferences; vegan with no cheese, vegetarian with cheese and others like me who want meat in the meal. I firmly believe that you should always tell your guests the truth and plan on accommodating everyone. In this case it was no problem at all. I made the base soup with vegetable broth and served cheese at the table. For me, I microwaved some frozen meatballs and added them to my bowl of soup. Everybody had a bowl of soup their own way just as it should be.

Pumpkin and Broccoli Stem Soup with Meatballs

The lead picture is Vegan, the next vegetarian and the final is carnivore. The recipe for the soup is not repeated because I basically followed the recipe for Super Vegan Acorn Squash Soup and left out the macaroni and substituted the cubed pumpkin and broccoli stems for the acorn squash.

Cubed Pumpkin and Broccoli Stems

As I am writing this post, I decided to find out how healthy this soup that my daughter and I jokingly call “Dumpster Soup” because it is made from ingredients that others throw out. Presently, pumpkin is grown where ever humans permanently reside on this planet. The oldest pumpkin-related seeds date between 7000 and 5500 BC and were found in Mexico. The medicinal properties of pumpkin include anti-diabetic, antioxidant, anti-carcinogenic, and anti-inflammatory. Broccoli was derived from cultivated leafy crops in the Northern Mediterranean in about the 6th century BCE or about 2600 years ago. A high intake of broccoli has been found to reduce the risk of aggressive prostate cancer and broccoli consumption has also been shown to be beneficial in the prevention of heart disease.

It looks like this soup is very healthy and even more important it tastes good enough to serve to company.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

