Stroganoff – Truly a Meal for a King!

by

Stroganoff

The Stroganoff Family was rich peasants 400 years ago who gave so much money to an inept like of Czars that they were awarded Nobility status. Somewhere along their financial dynasty, they are credited with developing Beef Stroganoff and the first recipe with that name contained mustard and was published in 1863. Now Dolores loved her beef and loved Stroganoff and cooked it well. I liked the flavor and nootice the great similarity to other easten European foods containing dill, onions and sour cream.

Dolores would use her leftover Porterhouse stake which was always cooked rare and then have me slice it thin. In this case, I started with another piece of that tough eye of the round that I was attempting to tenderize with sous vide. The meal was tasty and came out good but frankly would have been better with a better piece of meat so start with a decent cut. Left over London Broil works well.

Recipe:

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

4 oz meat dusted with flour.

½ small onion sliced

3 sliced green onions separate the white and green parts

4 oz sliced mushrooms

1 Tablespoon of Water

¼ cup sour cream (enough to coat everything, about 3 heaping Tablespoons or 4 level ones)

1 sprig of dill for garnish

Salt and pepper to taste

Setting up for Stroganoff

The olive oil, onion and white part of the green onions were cooked in the coffee pot until they were glazed or about ½ hour.

All in Except Sour Cream

The flower dusted cooked beef strips were then added to the pot. If it had been raw or rare, I would have added it at the beginning. The diced green onion parts, mushrooms and a small amount of dill leaves from the garnish were also added to the pot with a tablespoon of water. When all is cooked covered with aluminum foil for about 2 more hours, the sour cream is added to the pot and stirred. By the time you cook the noodles, the Stroganoff will be ready to serve. I usually add salt and pepper at the table and forget the salt on most days.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Stroganoff – Truly a Meal for a King!”

  1. Tes Says:

    My husband love stroganoff so much. It might be his favourite pasta sauce. The recipe sounds really simple and yummy. I will have to try it.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

  2. Beef Bourguignon « Coffee Pot Cooking Says:

    […] Tenderloin Section of a porterhouse, there was usually enough to make a second meal and I guess, Beef Stroganoff won as her favorite […]

  3. grmble Says:

    If you notice a spike in your traffic – that was me reading your archive.

    Lots of interesting recipes, I think this will be the first one I’ll try. I won’t buy a coffeepot though … but I’ll keep it in mind if I am ever in the market for a small slowcooker

    • Poppa John Says:

      Thanks for your visit and finding me. BTW I found an alternative to the coffeepot for those ion a hurry. The Oster electric fondue pot has an excellent temperature control from about 140 to 400. It comes without a cover but I just use one from another pot. I have done everything from fried foods at 350 to sous vide at 125. You can do most of my recipes fast around 300 and let it drift at 140 all day or until ready to eat.

Leave a comment